Canadian Zodiac

The mid-1800s were an exciting time for the British Colonies of the Province of Canada (Ontario and Quebec), Nova Scotia and New Brunswick. With the threat of expansion from southern neighbours and a nudge from Britain to become more independent, the time for change had come. After a series of conferences and peaceful negotiations, the Dominion of Canada was formed on July 1, 1867. Today, the Dominion is known as Canada and consists of 10 provinces and 3 territories.

On that same day, the Canadian zodiac came to be - a hybrid of the Greek and Chinese zodiacs, but with a twist that digs deep into the Canadian psyche and away from hockey-loving, maple syrup-drenched stereotypes. The zodiac is based on a 12-year cycle that features iconic Canadian creatures that represent the country’s vastness, diversity, acceptance and humour Canadians are known for.